## Chennamma Award for Jayamala, Rohini Nilekani

Staff Reporter

**BANGALORE:** Actor Jayamala Ramachandra and Rohini Nilekani are among those selected for the Kittur hennamma Award by the state Government this year.

On the occasion of International Women's Day, the Government has announced the best Stree Shakti (self-help groups) and Kittur Chennamma Award.

The others who were selected for Kittur Chennamma Award in the individual category are: M.R. Prashantha of Bangalore, Saroja Yallosa Bakale of Koppal, Nirmala C. Shiraguppa of Bijapur, Lalitha Shanbhag of Uttara Kannada, Jayasri B. Hiremath of Gadag, Sashirekha Ravishankar of Chitradurga, Asha Ramesh of Kundapur, Vinuta Ravindra of Bangalore, Yashodha Pandithrao Patil of Bijapur, Savita Annappanavar of Bijapur, and Nandini of Bangalore.

Under the organisation category Abhaya Mahila Kendra in Bangalore, Mahilodaya Okkoota in Madikeri, World Vision India of Dharwad, Vimochana Devadasi Punarvasati Sangha of Athani, Prachodana Samsthe of Hassan and CSAAW of Bangalore have been chosen.

Sri Dyamavva Devi Stree Shakti self-help group of Devagiri village in Haveri, Vishwas Stree Shakti Group II of Melgangolli village in Kundapur in Udupi taluk and Amruteshwara Stree Shakti of Gundegala village in Chamarajanagar have bagged best Stree Shakti group award.

In tBangalore division, the Smt. Yashodharamma Dasappa Award has been bagged by Nisarga Stree Shakti of Hanasavadi village in Shimoga, Sri Saraswathi self-help group of Kakanur village in Davangere; in Mysore division by Trupti stree shakti group, Narimogaru village in Dakshina Kannada district.

www.rohininilekani.org